A Point In Design


Residential Project – The Arrow House
June 22, 2011, 6:14 pm
Filed under: Residential Projects

East Elevation

Hello readers,
It has been a couple of weeks since my last blog post so I figured it was time to update the site again. I have been making an intensive study of the works of Le Corbusier and this new design entitled the Arrow House was in part inspired by his work. You may see some of the details from the famous Villa Savoye in this house; for example the trademark use of the support piers and the rounded ground floor. The parti (or distilled idea) for the design was a separated arrow that was infilled by a curtain wall. Other viewers may see a rabbit when they look at the elevation. This was a challenging project in terms of scale. The large atrium space and the prow living room are both lofty spaces and while dramatic, such spaces can be hard to live in and furnish. Creating intimacy within two large adjoining spaces required using lots of design tricks and a few iterations before I was happy with the end result.

The final version of the design contains 3 bedrooms and 3.5 baths with a home gym, a home office with separate entrance, a home theater, and a unique meditation space on the top floor.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
back often!

Comment by Drill Press

Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s
new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking
and checking back frequently!

Comment by Best Friend Rings

cheap-kids-bean-bag-chairs.tumblr.com So happy to get located this post.. I appreciate you sharing your viewpoint.. Particularly advantageous mindset, thank you for writing.. Fantastic thoughts you have got here..

Comment by Asha Phariss

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came to “return the favor”.

I am trying to find things to enhance my site!

I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

Comment by luxury real estate miami beach

Definitely consider that that you stated. Your favorite reason seemed
to be on the web the simplest factor to keep in mind of. I say
to you, I certainly get irked even as people think about issues that they plainly do not realize about.
You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , other folks could take
a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
Thank you

Comment by car locksmith miami keys

A fascinating discussion is definitely worth comment. I do
think that you should write more on this topic, it may not be a taboo matter but typically folks don’t talk about such issues. To the next! Best wishes!!

Comment by double curved shower rod

Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i got here to return the favor?
.I’m trying to in finding things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to make use of a few of your concepts!!

Comment by Immigration Adviser Ilford




Leave a Reply

